Georgia Secondary Metals
Compliance Guide:

A Guide for Secondary Metals Recyclers, Law Enforcement, Prosecutors, Utilities, and others to better understand the proper and lawful Purchase of Regulated Metal Property in the State of Georgia – effective July 1, 2015.

This guide is provided as a public service of:

Continue Reading...


Officers:

President, Michael Fairman
Glynn Iron & Steel
mlfairman@bellsouth.net

Treasurer/Secretary, John Tate
Newell Recycling
jtate@newellrecycling.com

Vice-President, Gary Kamp
Metro Alloys
gkamp@metroalloysinc.com

Immediate Past President, Rick Caldwell
Schnitzer Southeast
rcaldwell@schn.com

Board of Directors:

Chip Koplin
Pull-A-Part
ChipK@pullapart.com

Rick Gates
Fortune Metals
rickgates@fortunegroup.net

Dan Sterling
Direct Metals
daniel.sterling@yahoo.com

Nick Cantrell
Waycross Recycling
nick@waycrossrecycling.com

Lovett Thornton
Lovett's Auto Sales
lovettthornton@att.net

Executive Director:

Lenora Kopkin
lenora@proapg.com (770) 381-9616

Governmental Affairs Consultant:

Brian Hudson, The Hudson Group
brian@thehudsongroupllc.com

As you are aware, there has been a great deal of legislative activity in Georgia recently on the subject of metals theft.

The substantial expense involved with this has been paid by the New Southern Chapter of ISRI. Since this has become a large recurring expense, the ISRI chapter is no longer able to fund our legislative efforts at the same level. Due to the need for funds to continue our important work, several years ago, decision was made to re-establish a state recycling association.

We would like for you to become a member of this important organization. We have spent a considerable amount of resources educating the legislators, law enforcement and other stakeholders that our industry is not to blame for the metal theft problem.

We continue to educate all involved that the Georgia recycling industry is a major stakeholder in the theft issue - but that we can HELP all involved on the subject of metal theft.

We are aware that many of you are currently involved in your respective areas of Georgia - working with law enforcement, prosecutors, legislators and others to communicate and address the issue of metal theft. We are grateful for this help and hope that it will continue. We do feel that it is critical that we, as a unified industry, become better organized to address these issues and to better educate ourselves and others in Georgia about metal theft and other important issues to our industry.

Continue Reading...
News
Auto-theft Recovery Database Bill Signed [read]